Status of Proposed CCPA-Like State Privacy Legislation as of April 5, 2021

This spring 2021 legislative session has been extremely busy for the consumer privacy act. To date, state lawmakers have introduced bills in 24 states. Alaska, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Minnesota, New York, Massachusetts, and Washington are considering multiple bills. One state (Virginia) has passed legislation whereas the bills in four states (Kentucky, North Dakota, Mississippi, and Utah) have failed. This article includes more information about the different types of legislation happening and the impacts they will have.